Announcements: Department Updates

  1. Renner/Hansen Awards Ceremony - Sept 23, 2009

    Please join us for the Renner/Hansen Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, September 23, beginning at 5:30 PM at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center.

    This year's chosen recipients are:

    The John H. Renner, MD "Wisconsin Idea" Award
    The Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians

    Marc Hansen, MD Lectureship Award
    Kathleen Carr, MD

    This ceremony will also present:

    DFM Faculty Excellence Awards

    Dennis Breen, MD — Eau Claire Family Medicine Clinic Read more... »

  2. Faculty & Staff Excellence Awards - Applications Due Aug. 31

    Nominations are being accepted for faculty and staff excellence in performance and service to the mission of the UW DFM.

    3 to 5 awardees in each category will be considered from within the UW Dept. of Family Medicine Residency and UWMF managed clinics, along with those involved in the different missions of the department including education, research, clinical care, and administration. Read more... »

  3. Kudos - June 2009

    Congratulations to the PA Program!!! The Board of Regents approved their Masters Program proposal in early May. The program will begin summer of 2010. Great job to all, thanks for your hard work!

    Thanks to the following who have been recognized by their patients for their excellent care:

    Marla Dahlk, PA
    Sandy Kamnetz, MD
    Laura Kuhn, MD
    Phyllis Orsburne, LPN
    Nadim Ilbawi, MD
    Melissa Stiles, MD

  4. Dept Updates June 2009

    New Faculty & Staff

    • Rose Somers, MD began with the Urgent Care Clinics 5/18/09.


    • Belis Aladag, MD, MPH spent the month of May as a Visiting Scholar at the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine in Washington, DC. While she was in Washington, DC she also participated in the AAFP’s
      Congressional Conference.
    • Dennis Breen, MD was quoted in the story "Doctors increasingly saying no to medical freebies" in the Leader-Telegram newspaper.
  5. 4th Annual Wisconsin Academy for Rural Medicine (WARM) Symposium, August 12

    WHEN: Wednesday, August 12

    Learn more about the state of rural health care in Wisconsin, why WARM's mission is to increase the number of physicians practicing in rural Wisconsin and about the WARM admissions process.

    Advisors and mentors to pre-med students and prospective students are encouraged to attend.

    An agenda and registration information is available on the WARM Web site.

  6. Kudos - May 2009

    Congratulations to the PA Program!!! The Board of Regents approved their Masters Program proposal in early May. The program will be implemented the summer of 2010. Great job to all, thanks for your hard work!

    Rich Roberts, MD was a Visiting Professor at UCLA-Northridge Family Medicine Residency Program in Northridge, CA. April 2009.

    Kudos to Aleksandra Zgierska, MD for receiving her K Award.

    Thanks to Dr. Holly Keevil who has been recognized by her patients for her excellent care. Read more... »

  7. Dept Updates May 2009

    New Faculty & Staff

    • Nancy Pandhi, MD, MPH 0.8 FTE started as of 4/1/09 as an Assistant Professor.
    • Aleksandra Zgierska, MD 1.00 FTE started as of 3/1/09 as an Assistant Professor. Her clinical site is at the Monona clinic.


    • Jake Bidwell, MD was interviewed for an article, "The Vanishing Doc," which was published in Milwaukee Magazine, April 2009.
  8. Slideshow: Susan Skochelak, MD, MPH Reception

    A celebration reception was held for Dr. Susan Skochelak, on Wednesday, April 15th, at the WIMR Atrium, to wish her the best in her new endeavor at the American Medical Association.

    Armando S Vera was on hand to capture the event in photos.

    If you were unable to attend you can log in to read and post your well wishes in the comments. Read more... »

  9. Kudos - March/April 2009

    CONGRATULATIONS on a job well done in the resident match for 2009:

    • Eau Claire: all 6 positions filled (1 DO match, 2 pre-match, 3 NRMP match)
    • Fox Valley: all 6 positions filled (1 DO match, 5 NRMP match)
    • Madison: all 14 positions filled (1 DO match, 1 pre-match, 12 NRMP match)
    • Wausau: all 6 positions filled (3 DO match, 3 NRMP match)
    • Baraboo: 1 match

    Kudos to Nancy Pandhi for receiving a K Award. Read more... »

  10. Register for 2009 McGovern-Tracy Scholars Award Dinner

    Register Online »

    You and a guest are cordially invited to attend:

    2009 McGovern-Tracy Scholars Award Dinner

    Wednesday, May 13, 2009

    Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center
    Community Terrace Room (Located on Level 2)
    One John Nolen Drive
    Madison, WI

    6:00 Reception
    6:30 Dinner
    7:15 Program Read more... »