"Charged Up" Strategic Planning Brief 2/22/17

Task Force: Wellness and Resiliency


The wellness and resiliency implementation team has chosen the members of the FamWELL board and will have its first meeting in April. FamWELL Board Members:

1.       Alison Miller: Faculty Physician at Yahara

2.       Ann Schensky: Program Specialist/Office of Community Health

3.       James Bigham: Faculty Physician at Odana

4.       Marite Hagman: Program Specialist: VA project

5.       Michelle Grosch: Director of Residency Education

6.       Ildi Martonffy: Physician at Wingra/Residency Program Director

7.       Larry Hanrahan: Director of Research Alumni Hall

8.       Nicole Weathers: Faculty Physician at Fitchburg

9.       Adrienne Hampton: Faculty Physician at Northeast

10.   Lindsey Engel: Resident Representative (Verona)

11.   Nicole Smithback: Clinic Manager Odana

12.   Sam Sharp: Faculty Physician Integrative Health

13.   Kate Ledford: Resident Representative (Verona)

The team continues to recruit wellness champions from every DFMCH location by March 21. Interested staff should e-mail Julia (julia.yates@fammed.wisc.edu) for consideration.

The Wellness Symposium will take place on November 1, 2017, at Union South. This event is co-hosted by FamWELL and and UWell (UW-Madison’s wellness initiative).

The UW Health Wellness Options at Work blog is now easily accessible from the DFMCH intranet (https://inside.fammed.wisc.edu/).


Task Force: Staff Performance Development


Two of the task force’s recommendations—

1.       Having the annual evaluation tool open for two months prior to the deadline and

2.       Including optional 360-degree evaluations—have been implemented in the evaluation process for UW Health staff.

DFMCH IT is developing a web-based system to replace paper-based evaluations for DFMCH staff who are UW-Madison employees, hopefully by the end of April.


For More Information

For complete information on the strategic planning process, visit the DFMCH ReCHARGED website.

Below are the six DFMCH strategic planning task forces, their executive sponsors and their implementation chairs.

Task Force

Executive Sponsor

Implementation Chair

Performance Development

Linda Haskins

Mary Fendry

Wellness & Resiliency

Beth Potter, Linda Haskins

Julia Yates

Residency Education

Bill Schwab

Kathy Oriel (expansion)

Michelle Grosch (curriculum)


Larry Hanrahan

Regina Vidaver

Team-Based Care (Scribes)

Sandy Kamnetz

John Hawkins

Clinical Care (APP Role)

Kirsten Rindfleisch

Sara Redemann


DFMCH ReCHARGED is an ongoing process of engagement and continuous improvement. Thanks to everyone who has attended conferences or events, or who has participated in task forces, steering groups, interview and focus groups. There will many more opportunities to get involved, and we are all look forward to making our vision a reality!

DFMCH Executive Team

Val Gilchrist, Larry Hanrahan, Linda Haskins, Sandy Kamnetz, Kirsten Rindfleisch, Bill Schwab
Robin Lankton (co-facilitator)