Call for Nominations - McGovern-Tracy and Scholars Awards

On behalf of the UW School of Medicine and Public Health Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, I invite you to take advantage of our streamlined process for nominating 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th year Medical Students and 2nd and 3rd year Family Medicine Residents and Faculty/Community Preceptors for the following awards:  

Student Scholars Awards

  • Compassion in Action  (CIA) Award
  • CIA Community Health Leadership Award
  • CIA International Health Leadership Award
  • CIA Tibetan Delek Hospital in India
  • Robert F. and Irma K. Korbitz Endowed Scholarship
  • Vogel Scholarship
  • Founders Award
  • Dr. Lester Brillman Scholarship Award
  • Dr. Lester Brillman Leadership and Advocacy Award

McGovern Tracy Scholar Awards

  • McGovern-Tracy Scholars Award: Students
  • McGovern-Tracy Scholars Award: Residents


  • Dr. Lester Brillman Mentorship in Family Medicine Award

NOMINATION DEADLINE:  January 15, 2016

Simply click for the nomination form, fill out, and submit on-line.  For specific award selection criteria, please refer to The Awards Committee will review each nomination to verify its appropriate category.

A nomination does not constitute a letter of recommendation.  It is the nominee’s responsibility to recruit and submit:

  • The name of the person who will be writing the Letter of Recommendation.  The person writing the recommendation will be sent a form to complete.  This form will be returned to Sue McGuire at:  suzanne.mcguire@fammed.wisc.eduin lieu of a paper letter.
  • Personal Statement.  Nominees will be sent the personal statement form which is limited to one page (300 words).

All nominations must be received by Friday, January 15, 2016, to be eligible for consideration.

In addition, all supporting materials (Letter of Recommendation & Personal Statement) must be received by Friday, January 29, 2016, to be considered for an award. These are to be emailed directly to Sue McGuire at:

These awards will be presented at McGovern-Tracy and DFM Student Awards Ceremony on May 11, 2016 at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center.

Related Article: Student Scholar Award Winners from 2015