Call for Nominations for 2014 UW DFM Student Scholars Award Program

On behalf of the UW Department of Family Medicine, we invite you to take advantage of our streamlined process for nominating 1st through 4th year Medical Students and 2nd and 3rd year Family Medicine Residents for the following awards:

  • Compassion in Action (CIA) Award
  • CIA Community Health Leadership Award
  • CIA International Health Leadership Award
  • Robert F. and Irma K. Korbitz Endowed Scholarship
  • Dr. Lester Brillman Scholarship Award
  • Dr. Lester Brillman Leadership and Advocacy Award
  • Vogel Scholarship
  • Founders Award
  • McGovern-Tracy Scholars Award

Special Note: In addition, to the awards above, the “Dr. Lester Brillman Mentorship in Family Medicine Award” will be given to faculty member and/or community preceptors who nurture and sustain student interest in Family Medicine.

To nominate someone, fill out and submit our simple Online Nomination Form.

For specific award selection criteria, please refer to http:/// The Awards Committee will review each nomination to verify its appropriate category.

Nomination does not constitute a letter of recommendation.  It is the nominee’s responsibility to recruit and submit:

  • The name of the person who will be writing the Letter of Recommendation (must be emailed directly to Kim Jansen at by the letter writer)
  • Personal Statement (why student should be considered for the award in their own words)

All nominations must be received by Friday, January 17, 2014, to be eligible for consideration.

In addition, all supporting materials (Letter of Recommendation &Personal Statement) must be received by Friday, January 31, 2014, to be considered for an award. These are to be emailed directly to Kim Jansen at

These awards will be presented at 2014 McGovern Tracy and DFM Student Awards Ceremony on April 30, 2014 at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center. Register Online.

Related Article: Student Scholar Award Winners from 2013